31 March 2012

Voting still compulsory across Ipswich on April 28

Just because the councillor in your division has been elected unopposed, it doesn't mean you don't have to vote in the April 28 council election.

David Morrison (Division 1), Cheryl Bromage (6), Charlie Pisasale (8), Sheila Ireland (9) and Paul Tully (2) have all been re-elected unopposed.

But the Electoral Commission wants to remind voters in those uncontested divisions they still must show up to vote for mayor.

Mayor Paul Pisasale is being challenged by Peter Luxton.

The electoral commission this week warned Ipswich residents they will be fined $100 if they don't vote, unless they have a reasonable excuse.

The $100 fine is reducible to $50 for early payment.

Other divisions and the candidates starting with the incumbent are:

3: Victor Attwood, Daniel Donohue, Jim Dodrill.

4: (Vacant). Bruce Casos, Grant Vandersee, Shawn Ingle.

5: Heather Morrow, Vicki Ash, Michael Melling, Brian Scott.

7: Andrew Antoniolli, Nicholas White.

10: David Pahlke, John Byrne.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Channel 7 News: James Hardie v Ipswich City Council

Channel 7 News Flashback to 1995

Livestream TV via GNN - Goodna News Network

Watch live streaming video from goodna at